Whats been happening in marlborough??

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    yellowfin
    Participant

Miliwolf/sevengillz this ones for you :grin:

Disconnected and I are making the most of the extra day off for us chch peeps this weekend and heading up the sounds for a fish..

What are the latest reports from up those ways??

A contact up there says they have been getting a few snapper showing up down kenepuru/mahau area…

Heard of any other catches??

Any Kingis showed up yet??

We’re thinking of maybe heading to okiwi bay/french pass or maybe even out titirangi bay.

If the snapper are turning up surely the kings cant be too far away??

Any local spots you’d like to share etc feel free :grin: :grin:

Miliwolf
    Participant

Heard of Several [b:33zlgzfy]BIG[/b:33zlgzfy] Snapper being caught in the shallows in the Kenepuru. For spots try a quick search, it has been discussed several times before and I am not experienced enough at Snapper fishing to pick one over another.

Personally I would go to either French pass or Kenepuru. According to my fish finder the QC is still relatively cold (around 14). The warmest water (just below 17) is in Port Underwood, Cloudy and Clifford Bay. The outer sounds around to the Mouth of the Pelerous is also warm. Tasman bay and the western side of the sounds is just below 16.

Port Underwood would be a gamblers choice.

yellowfin
    Participant

Awesome.. Thanks.

Yeah we have heard of a couple of big snapper being caught. close to the 20lb mark.
    So that has got our hopes up :D😀

Just gotta catch one now :lol:

Miliwolf
    Participant

Take a step into the unknown and try out Port Underwood, the water is almost 17 degrees and there are nice looking ‘Snapper’ beaches up in the head of the Bay. Then tell us all how it fishes :wink:

One day I would make the effort and fish the Port, one day.

yellowfin
    Participant

vip_yo

yellowfin
    Participant

Off the rocks this time.

Sevengillz