Total Novice – Advice needed

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi from England.

I’ll be in your stunning country during Feb 2013 and need to find a rod and reel combo that will be multifunctional. I’ve seen the Ugly Stick Gold 10′ which seems to fit my needs, or is it overkill? Here we use 13′ rods capable of casting up to 275g as the tide races between Dover and France at 3+ knots. Do you manage to hold the bottom with less than 4oz? Also, why are most of your rods either 14′ long or as short as just 7′, but with little options in between?

I may buy a Surecatch tackle both with all the bits, but is this just a gimmic purchase for the gullible?

I’ll be fishing areas North of Auckland mainly, predominantly beaches with a few rocks although a trip around the Southern half of the North Island and piers/wharfs is possible. Also, any Rod I buy needs to be small. Down to about 3′ to 5′ when split as I’ll be in a motorhome.

I may bring my own multiplier, ABU 6500 or PENN 525 MAG, but would be happy for any advice on fixed spools, aka Coffe Grinders? My 13′ carbon beachcaster will be staying here though as I’d hate to have it trashed by the airline baggage handlers!

Thank you in advance.

Nigel

Miliwolf
    Participant

During normal conditions a 4oz break out sinker is enough to hold firm.

There are quite a few 10ft and 12ft rods on the market, although most are 13’6″. For whatever reason most 12ft and 10ft rods are normally budget models.

Its after midnight here, and I am tired but would write a bit more in the morning.

Miliwolf
    Participant