Birdlings Flat

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    yellowfin
    Participant

Things are looking up at Birdlings! :)

Toward the left next to the cliff’s they have created a channel which is always meant to be open to allow a permanent opening to the sea for lake forsyth. The idea was to build rock groynes at the entrance. Waves banking against the groynes would keep the channel scoured and their energy would stir the lower lake and flush it. This isnt working as the waves breaking pile up shingle blocking the entrace. Im no engineer but I could have told them this never would have worked. This was the problem when they used to create a channel toward the sea, the rock bank was ment to stop this.

But for fishing I think this will be quite exciting as I think this rock pile will create a nice area for moki to live around, also on the north face of it when the swell is down it could make it abit more sheltered.

Tight lines everyone! :)

yellowfin
    Participant

I hope you’re right about the moki. I was against the project because it would stop people from being able to get down to the cliffs to fish, and this is one place where you can get moki.
    A big concrete pipe that sticks out above the sea bed might be a more practical option for connecting the lake and the sea, with the way the shingle constantly moves.

yellowfin
    Participant

On the plus side, the water quality in Lake Forsyth might improve a little.

I do remember one of my first fishing trips when I moved down here. We liked the look of the rocks at Birdlings, but thought the lake drained to the sea so took the long way around!!

Miliwolf
    Participant

Any photos of the channel.

yellowfin
    Participant

grimace

yellowfin
    Participant

Miliwolf

yellowfin
    Participant

Booger

yellowfin
    Participant