Surfcasting at Birdling Flat, Canterbury, S.I. New Zealand

Posted By yellowfin On With 0 Comments

This topic contains 117 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  yellowfin 12 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 118 total)
  • Author

yellowfin
    Participant

[size=84:6zr999yx]I’m often asked, “Where are the best places to go surfcasting around Canterbury?” My usual answer is that the best surfcasting is to be found south of Banks Peninsula between Birdlings Flat and South Rakaia Huts. These are steeply shelving shingle beaches with a sudden drop-off into deep water, whereas north of Banks Peninsula the beaches are generally shallow and sandy. You’ll need a long rod of at least 12 feet and I prefer 25 lb line to cope with stone bruising.

yellowfin
    Participant

I have to say I am very impressed with this site, Im just new to surfcasting and was looking at going out this weekend. Will now look at Birdlings Flat. Just wanting to know if anyone has been there lately and what the conditions were like, baits used etc. Any more excellent reccomendations would be greatly appreciated.

Keep it up Yellowfin

yellowfin
    Participant

Hi Unhygenix,

Many thanks for your comments about the site.

I don’t know if you are

yellowfin
    Participant

Hello everyone,:dude::dude:

Have just had a weekend packed full of fishing at Birdlings flat. I am new to this game so it was more a “trial and error” weekend. I bought a 15ft surfcater and egg beater reel to suit, I think it was with a 28 pound line (does that sound right?).[i:ax0wyc8v]

yellowfin
    Participant

Hello. What were you wanting to catch? The best bait for most things is freshly caught Yellow eyed mullet(herring),They are very easy to catch if you make or buy a sabiki rig with size 10 hooks and tiny peices of chicken heart for bait. Then you can use the yellow eyed mullet for catching anything from kahawai to seven gillers. Kahawai also make good bait.

yellowfin
    Participant