Setting your drag

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    yellowfin
    Participant

Do you always do that? Like, I’m no expert but it doesn’t seem necessary to set your drag using the usual surfcasting tackle. Do you only do that in case a big shark bites your bait?

If you do set the drag on your reel how do you judge when it’s enough? Do you use a scale or what?

Thanks

rdeejay
    Participant

Catch an Ele Or Rig then you’ll see why you need your drag set. I can’t remember the formula but it’s a certain percentage of your line breaking strain so lets say you had 10 kg line on and you wanted to set it to 7 kg drag one way to do it is fill a bucket of water that weighs 7kg’s hook your line to it and then walk some line out, now engage everything and walk backwards slowly with your rod up but not fully vertical adjust your drag till it starts coming off from the resistance of the bucket. Just remember if your rod tip is low the drag is less if it’s high its more.

yellowfin
    Participant

Ele or Rig? Do they have enough power to actually bust you off? I thought setting your drag would be in case a sevengiller or a big school shark shows up…
    Anyway thanks for the tips

Miliwolf
    Participant

I do not bother to ‘set my drag’. I adjust it quite a bit once out on the water. I normally have it fairly loose for the hook up and tighten it half way around once a fish is on. If the fish is taking heaps of line or looks like it is trying to bust me off I would tighten it up a little more, once under control I would loosen it a few clicks until the next run.

fishforpot
    Participant

I tighten mine 100% for the cast ….then back it off util line easiely comes off the reel , but enough to put a nice bend on the rod without lifting the breakaway sinker …..
    Then I flick up my bait runner drag ….just as an added safety measure