New Member “Introduction”

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Fly guy
    Participant

Hiya gang

Thought I would introduce myself to the board, I am a pomme yes sorry I know! not my fault. Moved to NZ / Kaiapoi 2 years ago now with my wife son 4 and our new addition 4 month old daughter. We absolutely love it here its the best thing we ever did, getting away from the UK.

Ive been fishing for around 20 years now started with course fishing, then progressed to sea fishing, which Ive been doing for the last 12 years, mainly surf casting and some boat fishing. Just got into fly fishing over the past 3 weeks.

I’m after getting back into the fishing now things have settled down at home. Been looking into getting out surf casting pretty soon but need to find out some more info on areas / baits /

Miliwolf
    Participant

I use rods from 6ft to around 14ft while fishing from a surf beach. I believe the advantage of the taller rods is that they allow for potentially longer casts and keep the line above the surf for a greater distance. Quite a few fish feed relatively close to shore so a large casting distance is not always essential.

Most types of bait would catch something if you use it for long enough. I personally like prawn, crab when targeting rig, and squid or pilchard for everything elese. From time to time I use other baits…

yellowfin
    Participant

Hey fly guy im Greg and also live in kaiapoi and have done for 20 years

Sevengillz
    Participant

Welcome Fly Guy ;)

For info on surfcasting,you have come to the right place! :D

Fly guy
    Participant

Cheers for the replies, some useful info there. Not been out surfcasting yet, been trying some fly fishing which I have never done before(TO BLOODY EXPENSIVE IN THE UK)

Im missing the surfcasting so its about time I got out there. Gonna plan a trip to Ambereley next weekend I think, better warn the wife!