Fishing Kaikoura and the Sounds

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Foxyfilly
    Participant

Hi Guys, newbie here.

Miliwolf
    Participant

Access is average in the sounds. Quite a bit of private land there.

You could try fishing the keneperu sounds, you might catch a snapper. Can be quite slow.

The inner queen Charlotte sounds the fishing is slow, you might get a snapper.

Although personally I would drive out towards French pass, out there from the shore you would have a decent chance to catch Snapper or Blue cod from the shore. Maybe even a kingfish.

Generally the further down the sounds and closer to the open ocean you get the better the fishing is likely to be.

Miliwolf
    Participant

There are quite a few spots around Kaikouria. Quite a bit has already been discussed in previous posts.

There are good sites close to the township, or you could drive either south or north. Good spots in both directions. Although the sea can be rougher to the south.

North of the Clarence there is a very nice strech of long gravel surf beaches while north it is more rocky with smaller beaches.

Maybe on the day you drive up to the sounds it could be worth a stop at the three fords. That is where the main road goes through three fords, quite easy to find. That whole beach is fairly good.

Foxyfilly
    Participant

Hi, thanks for the tips.

Miliwolf
    Participant

Never been to Bulwer, but there would be beach access at the cluster of baches.

You might also be able to sneak down firebreaks or other tracks.

You should be able to catch Snapper and maybe Blue cod. Should be nice down there.

Sevengillz
    Participant

Hi.I fished down the Bulwer about this time last year.Was using surfcasters off the bulwer jetty and fished about half the day but never got anything.Its a nice place if ya just wanna park up for a day but its a long way to drive just for a fish off the jetty.