Coopers Beach Boat Trips

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi from England.

During Feb 2013 I will at some point be meeting up with my father (From the UK) and both brothers-in-law who are NZ residents.

Can anyone recommend a good boat from the area of Coopers Beach on North Island that could take us out for a day, not fishing for 200lb idiot sized stuff but anchored for 8lb snapper and such like, and just an enjoyable day afloat. In the UK we pay about $120 per person per day, excluding bait and rod hire, in tides that race by at 3 knots with weights of 3lb so anything cheaper and less tiring than that would be most welcome. Especially as here, if you get 2 fish over 7lb during the day it’s a miracle!

Many thanks in advance….

Also, this is my other question…..

Total Novice – Advice needed

by Nigelmozz » Thu Aug 23, 2012 8:34 am

Hi from England.

I’ll be in your stunning country during Feb 2013 and need to find a shore rod and reel combo that will be multifunctional. I’ve seen the Ugly Stick Gold 10′ which seems to fit my needs, or is it overkill? Here we use 13′ rods capable of casting up to 275g as the tide races between Dover and France at 3+ knots. Do you manage to hold the bottom with less than 4oz? Also, why are most of your rods either 14′ long or as short as just 7′, but with little options in between?

I may buy a Surecatch tackle both with all the bits, but is this just a gimmic purchase for the gullible?

I’ll be fishing areas North of Auckland mainly, predominantly beaches with a few rocks although a trip around the Southern half of the North Island and piers/wharfs is possible. Also, any Rod I buy needs to be small. Down to about 3′ to 5′ when split as I’ll be in a motorhome.